Thursday, May 29, 2008

Tomorrow is the end of one thing, and the start of another...

Tomorrow is my last day at the law firm. Since I had started in November '07, I had taken a pay cut and a lower job status as an administrative assistant. Pretty much, this was strictly filing. However, I quickly knew exactly what I had to do, which was do it right and make sure it was done quick and the best. I immediately showcased my potential and after a few weeks, I had upgraded my responsibilities and duties.

Two months later, I began working with the firm's bookkeeper, where I had the chance to upgrade responsibilities and completely rid of filing duties. Someone was hired to replace my mainline of administrative duties as I made the transition to become a bookkeeper assistant. I had achieved the level of credibility that I expected prior to joining the firm, proving to myself as well as the firm.

It's been 7 months, with the compliments of two promotions, it was yet again, time to move on. It was most definitely appreciated of the changing attitudes of my supervisors as I had grew on with the firm. I learned many useful skills that I will carry on with me to become the ultimate worker/entrepreneur.

**Thank you GHSK for giving me the opportunity to share my work ethics while assisting in the operations of your firm.**

My new path is set to begin on Monday as I will be working for Prudential Financial (if all goes well with the screening process), as I was accepted into their Summer Agency Marketing Associate Program. I look forward to it, while gaining valuable experience towards out on the field, within the financial services industry. It was definitely not what I had planned for this summer, at the time I had decided to transfer (wanted to land an internship position with any top 5 investment banks), but this will have to do for now.

My name is Raymond Mo and I will make it!

Sunday, May 25, 2008

When do you know you're a bum?

When do you know you're a bum?

You know when you're a bum
when you wake up past 11:00A.M.

You know when you're a bum
when you watch TV for the first couple hours
the minute you wake up

You know when you're a bum
when you keep looking at the beautiful weather
and not do a damn thing to get ready

You know when you're a bum
when you write a poem like this
wasting valuable time to do something else

You know when you're a bum
when you leave house thinking, man why did it take so long?

You know when you're a bum
when you keep wondering, what to do next
And finally, you know when you're a bum
when you sit on the computer for hours
looking for things to do,
looking for ways to kill time while at home.

Fuck it, I'm leaving now!

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

To Prof. K

Today's class was the best. It topped every single class we had had prior to today and the majority were great. Prof K., many may see this as sucking up, but quite honestly I feel like you can't get enough compliments of how your class in one way or more, changed my views here and there.

I'm more aware of why things happen and how, in terms of management. I learned a great deal about myself, growing through outside ventures and even in class activities. The activities were great, the text was boring, but you made it interesting with your style of teaching. I actually prefer that type of teaching, where you post a slide and you explain it. Only one minor suggestion, but I'm sure you're the pro at it, but I prefer slides with less words, as most websites prefer as well.

All in all, Prof K, today's concluding class, I really needed it. In the beginning, although it was part of the class lesson, I felt like that entire presentation was geared towards me and my idea. I can't seem to let go of my idea and I feel like I will always have to prove myself to everyone that I have told about this new business venture. And the best way is to actually just go ahead and do it. I feel like, if it isn't me, then no one else will lead my idea to reality.... Then onto the poem slam; It was just awesome. I was laughing, amazed, and had wished I had set more time to write the poem to make a funny one because I'm pretty creative myself, but I ended up writing poems similar to the boring and serious poems that I've been reading all semester in ENG 2150.

Anyways, to end this quick - Had a blast in your class! You're the first class in Baruch I would actually recommend others to come take. Thanks a lot and definitely keep in touch!

My thoughts on the entire process...

So, we finally hit the end of the semester and I write this a little bit late of deadline I admit Prof. K
First off, I thought the blog assignment was great at first. I know, I know, the but part is coming up. At first, I was excited to start writing in an online journal because basically a blog is just that. It's a place where you can share your thoughts as opposed to a private journal/diary if your a chick.
So in the beginning, I thought it would be a great way to reflect on what I've been up to at school and ways I can make it better by figuring out what was exactly wrong. Although, writing in the blog was not a long task, it was the ability to make it a habit. It is in fact, a change of itself.

So long story short, it's a great assignment. I see the point of putting a blog assignment up to have students track their progress at least a little of what they are learning in your class, but in your class, quite honestly, you don't need to. You have the idea of experiences outweighing the texts, but to conclude... my suggestions for future classes is to make the blog assignment a requirement, except that it should be written in at least once a week as well as must comment on a random NEW classmate's blog entry. Each week, there should be a new topic up, or a new quote, or a question, or even a free entry blog assignment like how those English classes back in elementary used to spark my creativity at least.

You stress creativity, so why not create a larger incentive by choosing a topic of choice each week, while also forcing others to comment other classmates by actually reading their blog entry for the week, and it would help engage everyone towards each other's blogs on their self interest thereafter. I believe this would help spark more creative thoughts because it gives you a little bit of everyone, just how they always say you need to know a little bit about everything.

Monday, May 12, 2008

My piece of art!

Oh crap, I'm late!
Why did I ever stay up to watch that playoff game?
Why did I wait till the last minute to do my project?
Why did I?

Oh crap, I'm late!
I have to be at work in an hour! I need to study!
I'm gonna fail this test tomorrow.
So little time, so much to do...

Oh crap, I'm late!
Maybe I should get started on things earlier next time.
Maybe I should write out my course of action.

But in the end,
In order to be most effective,
Its time we realize that it never ends.
Approach everything in life and say "Fu*K it, Just Do it!"
Maybe once, I won't be late!

Friday, May 9, 2008

My first year at Baruch.... the many frustrations!

This is a recap of how much I have been annoyed and frustrated by this school's system.

First, I transferred losing 18 credits
- It took weeks and weeks before I was able to actually have a schedule I can say it was fixed.
- I was told to go here and there to get this and that
Second, registering for this past spring '08 was a pain!
- I had to take some courses that I had already taken at SBU
- ENGLISH lvl 2 AGAIN?!?!
- Only class I enjoy this sem. is MGMT (sucking up lol) but really, it's true

Now I'm trying to register for classes for Fall '08 and my registration date was this past Monday.
How many classes did I register for that actually went towards graduation requirements??
0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

All classes are full!!! This school, as of now is basically making me take a semester off by default.

The classes that I'm signed up for in the fall is "Intro to Acting" lol, and ACC2203. I don't even know anymore what to do. I'm gonna get the worst teachers, hurt my gpa, but graduate on time, or I can take 5 bullshit classes each semester until everything clears up and I will be finally able to register classes on time.

BULLSHIT, SO DAMN FRUSTRATED!!!